Sunday, March 13, 2011

The Grapes of Cash: Tennessee liquor stores feel squeezed by grocers' push to sell wine (KnoxNews)

— If a grocery store owner sells a bottle of wine in Tennessee today, he or she could sit behind bars for 11 months and 29 days, get a $2,500 fine, or receive both penalties.
It's now a Class A misdemeanor. It has been against the law since Prohibition.
That would change if grocers get their way. For the last three years, they have pushed bills in Nashville that would allow them to sell wine -- not liquor -- in their stores.
The package of legislation they've introduced this year gives local communities the right to vote on the sales first, though. The bills would also allow liquor stores to sell ice, corkscrews, soft drinks, cocktail mixers and glassware, but not regular-alcohol beer.
Read the full story at KnoxNews: The Grapes of Cash

No comments:

Post a Comment